What’s up, Guam?

I am officially on my first port call of this WestPac.  We have successfully made it to the tiny island of Guam.  I used to live here when I was really small and now I’m here to enjoy the beauty of it as an adult.  This was an unscheduled stop for us, but I plan on taking full advantage of our time not at sea.

The first order of business was to take advantage of the high oxygen content and get a run in.  I ran all around the base and it felt fantastic.  It was the middle of the day, so it was really hot, but it was also really worth it.  I got back to the boat and had what I think had to be the most refreshing shower of this deployment so far.  Hopefully there’s more to come.  I just may try to get some more mileage in tomorrow.

I didn’t leave the base today because I just wanted to stay close to home, but what I did see was awfully nice.  I ran by the beach on base and it is every bit as tropical as Hawaii.  It made me feel like I hadn’t gone far at all even though we’ve been at sea for a week or so. The sky is so clear that you can see a million stars overhead.  Tomorrow, I’ll venture out even further and see what else this island has to offer.

The Superbowl’s coming up and I will be in port to see it.  I’ll be on duty, but the cable will be installed and operational so I can see the Steelers win it all.  That’d just be a bonus on top of being in port.  What a cool way to start off this deployment!

About showiedoit

Not a hipster living among hipsters in the great PDX
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s up, Guam?

  1. martha says:

    HI Shaun, Enjoy Guam! Hope you get another run in. Are you taking pictures?
    hugs
    m

    • Mom says:

      Hi Shaun, Thank you for the memories. It is beautiful. Enjoy Guam again. Do snorkeling if you can. Don’t forget your shoes.

      Mom

Leave a Reply

